Just that kind of day….

Last night I had a dream. I dreamt that we were chosen by a expectant mom to adopt her child. Her only stipulation was that she give birth to the child in our home, and then live with us for a week while she recovered. We said yes, and she gave birth to a little boy in our home. We were then flooded by tons of visiting family and friends. And one by one they kept saying horribly racist things…things I know NONE of them would ever say or even think. And all the while, the mother of this baby was watching them, listening to them. I was in a panic, but family and friends wouldn’t leave. Finally, she told me that my family was too racist to live on this planet…and we wouldn’t be raising her child. Cue me waking up mad and frustrated for no real reason….

Then, I get going with my day….

**************

When Cadet finally went down for a nap, I was ready to relax. I was almost done with writing a whole other post (a rant, really) about being married to an introvert…when I got a call from our adoption attorney.

A birth mother chose our profile (MissS). MissS is due in February and is having a little girl. No drugs. No alcohol. But, more than one potential biological father. And that’s all I know.¬†While I was on the phone with the attorney, she got called away on a family emergency…so I don’t have all the details.

That put a whole new spin on my day!

*************

The conversation about “do we want #2″ just got that much more urgent.

Categories: Other Stuff | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Just that kind of day….

  1. EEK. Sending good thoughts, whatever decision you end up making. And another EEK, just for good measure ;)

  2. Wow! Exciting! And scary. Looking forward to hearing more as you get details.

  3. Wow! Yeah… that’s all I’ve got. Wow!

  4. Sounds like this evening will be full of deep conversation. Best of luck to you!!

  5. This is such exciting news!! And February is so soon!! I can’t wait to read your next posts as you decide what to do next.

  6. You know what *I* think – wishing you luck as you figure out what *you* think…

  7. Oh how exciting! Is it terrible of me to ask that if you decide not to accept this option you pass along information to me! We’ve been waiting to adopt our first child for over a year and the wait is getting unbearable!

    • Jana

      Ok, that sounded very insensitive of me! I’m very happy and hope this works out for you! You are an amazing mom as I can tell from your blog posts!

  8. Wow! Can’t wait to hear more updates.

Leave your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com. Customized Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

