Getting “mama” back.

For those of you who have been following this blog for a while, you know the struggles we’ve had with Cadet’s development. We’ve seen a handful of doctors, he’s been tested, we have a diagnosiswe have seen words lost, and we have made progress.  Cadet has an amazing team of therapists, doctors, and teachers who are hard-working and knowledgeable.

And everyone who works with him has been amazed with his progress, especially over the last three months. This kid is blooming! McRuger and I have seen a big difference in how Cadet communicates with us and others. His tantrums and frustrations are nearly non-exsistant (unless he’s tired/sick). He’s a happy kid, who is using words together, playing with kids, interacting with adults, and is learning to control his stimming behaviors.

He has therapy or “school” every day of the week. Most days he has two appointments to go to. Playdates are hard to schedule, some days start really early, there’s always more things that we are working on, and new things to learn. Cadet’s energy level is high, even for a kid his age. He needs time to run, jump, throw, bounce, and dance. And even after he’s tired, he needs time to wind-down and feel balanced again. There are some days he refuses to sleep. Some days, he’s testing boundaries constantly (welcome to toddler-hood). I talk constantly to him; narrating what’s happening around us or what we’re doing. In the car, we are either talking or listening to NPR (because that’s where I get my news). We still have good and bad days (of course).

But…but…but…we have “mama” back!!!! He now asks for me, often saying “excuse me, mama”. When he’s upset and in McRuger’s arms…he’ll reach for me saying “mama” over and over again. In the morning, when he hears me coming down the hall, he’ll say “mama” and I will say his name/nickname…and he’ll giggle wildly. He’s even said “Love you” to me on a few occasions (it sounds like “dove 0000h”).

He’s started ordering Em (the dog) around. Telling her to go to the bedroom or go outside. Before Cadet leaves the house, he says “good bye” to his toys. He’s asking for the names of things, and tries to imitate the sounds. He knows his colors, he can count to 10 (although “one” is often missing), and he understands pretty much everything I say. When we’re shopping, or at the doctor’s, or even just taking a walk…Cadet waves and says “hello” to everyone he sees. He engages in imaginative play occasionally, even feeding his dolls and trucks. It’s not just progress, it’s a good deal of forward movement.

The thing is, most people wouldn’t understand 75% of his words. Last week, Rose came over and we went to the beach (Cadet had the day off of school). While she noted that she saw quite a bit more “words”, some of them were indistinguishable to her. And, that’s common, and very okay. His teachers and therapists occasionally have difficulty with certain words. For instance, when Cadet wants me to move and go with him, he says “oooo-vuh” or when he wants to play with his trains, he’ll say “Tee” over and over again. His speech therapist and I are working hard to get him to say more words in context…at this point it only matters that the intention is there.

And that’s what this part of his journey is all about…intention. The fact that Cadet wants to communicate and wants others to understand him is a huge deal. He is engaged in the world around him, and learning more and more each day.

I asked his OT on Friday, where she predicted he’d be in 5 years. She smiled and shook her head: “He’s going to be great. He’s got plenty of brains and lots of curiosity. That’s pretty much the ballgame. I’d say he will look and act like most other kids, because he’s going to learn how to control his sensory needs.”

Is he still delayed? Yep. Absolutely, compared to a majority of kids his age. Mostly speech, but it’s clear he’s got the cognitive power to work through that. This week, we will have a team meeting to discuss where Cadet is and observations about his progress. I will also get the results of the latest bout of testing done by his teachers. From there, we’ll refine his goals for the next six months.

Does he really have autism? To be honest, no one knows at this point. He certainly has the communication and sensory problems that are typical for kids with ASD. But, in pretty much all other categories, he’s a pretty normal kid. When we last saw Dr. Smiles (Cadet’s pediatrician), he was amazed at how “un-autistic” Cadet was. Cadet was engaged, curious, and verbal…even saying “Hi Doctor” and “Bye Doctor” appropriately. We’re currently thinking he simply has SPD (sensory processing disorder), but only time will tell.

In the world of “special needs”, it’s said over and over again that it’s important to focus on the child…not the diagnosis. I do that, every day. Cadet isn’t a diagnosis. McRuger and I spend a lot of time focusing on what Cadet needs. We have a rhythm. We’re moving (fast) in a forward direction. And, like I said, we have “mama” back.

Categories: autism, Cadet, developmental delay, doctors, health, McRuger, SPD | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Getting “mama” back.

  1. Oh, Rain, that’s so good to hear! I imagine it’s music to your ears. :)

  2. How wonderful to hear he is making good progress. I t is so nice to hear that you have “mama” back!

  3. Oh Rain!!! This post made me smile. I can just feel the positive energy coming from this post. I’m beyond estatic that you have “mama” back and that Cadet is making such huge strides. What a win for you all.

    Keep up the good work, mama. I know it can be tetious, but you’re doing an amazing job!

  4. Gorgeous news! So happy for you. You’re doing a fantastic job, mama!

  5. franontheblog

    This brought tears to my eyes!! How amazing his progress is, and what the OT said melted my heart. He will be just fantastic, I know it.

  6. Fantastic update. So happy that all of your & McRuger’s and especially Cadet’s hard work is making such measurable progress!

  7. What a wonderful update! I’m so glad to read about all the progress Cadet has made.

  8. That’s awesome news! (Also…if he’s a bit delayed no one understands a lot of what V says either, so maybe they are in the same “stage” as it were…)

    Diagnoses are often used to justify treatment, which is frustrating when they end up following us around and denying us coverage, but I digress. Even if he has ASD, that is a WIDE WIDE spectrum. My BiL is on that spectrum and has his PhD and works for an Ivy League university. But, I am not convinced, and I agree 100%- doesn’t matter.

    Your case should be a poster story for the beauty of early intervention! And yay for OT, that’s what my sis does early intervention OT!

  9. This is such great news! So glad you’ve been able to get this care for Cadet, and that you’ve pushed to get providers who are a good fit for you both! Hearing “mama” again must be so nice. :)

  10. This post brought tears to my eyes… I know that Pip’s issues are different from Cadet’s, but I am still waiting to hear him call me mummy. You and Cadet give me hope that it won’t take forever, and that someday in the relative near future, Pip will have a breakthrough. **hugs**

  11. This is exactly where I am with my Ham right now.

  12. Awwww…. That is wonderful! Mama is the best word in the world. :)

Leave your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

