You are fired…

On Monday night, McRuger and I sent an e-mail to the two directors of Cadet’s “school”, telling them that Therapist X would no longer be welcome in our home. They both got back to us within the hour, and were apologetic that we had been dealing with this.

Tuesday rolled around and McRuger dropped Cadet off at school with no incident. But, when I got to the school to pick up Cadet, I ended up speaking to one director for over 20 minutes about our concerns with Therapist X.

In retrospect, there were lots of warnings that Therapist X wasn’t really right for Cadet. She spent a lot of time talking to me about other jobs she was interviewing for (she asked me once to be a reference for her, which I declined), about how the school didn’t pay her enough, and why she didn’t like the direction the school was going. I would regularly hear about her wild weekends or the trouble she was having with her landlord or her ex. She regularly broke school confidentiality rules when talking about other students (the rule being you NEVER discuss the diagnosis of others). Therapist X would also regularly forget Cadet’s binder at school (his binder is how they track progress) and claim to not understand his new goals/charting. And then, there was the cell phone issue.

The straw that broke the camel’s back was when our beloved babysitter told us that the few times she’d been here to supervise sessions with Therapist X…our babysitter ended up doing most of the work while Therapist X played on her cell phone. We were shocked.

On Tuesday night, Therapist X texted me…clearly very upset. She stated that she wished I hadn’t talked to her supervisors, and rather I had just worked things out with her. I didn’t respond, because I knew that her supervisors had told her all of my concerns and why she was being taken off Cadet’s rotation. What more was there to say?

On one hand, I feel bad. Therapist X is a young woman who is just starting out in life.  This is her first “real” job in the “real” world. I remember being in her shoes. Shouldn’t I give her some breathing room? Then I remember that I am paying for these services for my kid. I shouldn’t feel bad about asking for anything less than exactly what he needs!

By Wednesday morning, Cadet had a new therapist assigned and I have already met with her. She will most likely be a much better fit for Cadet’s needs and our family.

This morning, when I dropped off Cadet, the second director spoke to me and apologized profusely that she had sent Therapist X into our home. She also alluded to the fact that Therapist X had been having trouble with other families. She also seemed to indicate that Therapist X had been fired from the school.

*******

It’s been a bit stressful dealing with all of this. Cadet loved Therapist X and always enjoyed his time with her. So, not having her in his life must be confusing to him. But, I’m glad that we will be getting better help for him in the future.

Categories: autism, Cadet, Choices, developmental delay, Questions, SPD | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “You are fired…

  1. Many times, the best lessons in life are learned through failure. And it’s clear that Therapist X has a lot of growing to do.

    No guilt over this Rain. There are so many red flags with this young woman and I’m not surprised to hear she’s having issues with other families. If she has been fired, I truly hope this is the wake-up call she needs to evaluate what she’s doing and make the necessary changes to correct these issues. But worry about that is not your concern. Cadet is.

    Hope the new therapist works out.

  2. Yikes! It sounds like you did the right thing and no need for feeling bad! So many issues that I don’t even know where to begin. She just wasn’t mature or responsible enough to be doing what she was doing. I hope things go well with Cadet’s new therapist.

  3. I hate to say it, and I’ve seen articles addressing this point, but it seems that this is a generational issue with kids with their first jobs coming out of college. The phones are an issue, the idea that they aren’t considered perfect all the time (even when presented with info that they are indeed not perfect), etc. My husband encounters lots of problems as a supervisor with newly graduated young men and women who are behaving similarly on the job. And sometimes, their parents will even try to defend them. Yikes. I think something missed the boat with that generation, but it seems while she had good skills (making Cadet comfortable) you did her more of a service by alerting the school. She will learn from this experience.

    Good luck with the new therapist…

  4. You did the right thing and X will just have to learn the hard way what being a professional truly means.

Leave your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

